Electrical Contractor State Requirements

How To Become A Tennessee Electrical Contractor

The electrical Tennessee contractor license is issued at the state and local level.

It is important to contact the local authorities in your area to learn what the requirements are for the type of work you intend to do. In some cases, a state license may qualify you for a local license as long as you pay the necessary fees.

The electrical Tennessee contractor license (CE) is a state issued license that is accepted in all municipalities, however, you must still abide by their local rules and pay local licensing fees. This license is issued to contractors with jobs over $25,000.

A personal interview with the electrical board may be needed and references and financial statements are required. In addition you must provide proof of workers comp insurance and liability insurance.

The electrical Tennessee contractor license examination has two parts. One deals with business and law. This test has 50 questions and takes two hours to complete. The second part of the test is based on the 2008 National Electrical Code, has 100 questions and takes four hours. A score of 73% is needed to pass. The tests cost $88. The application fee is $250 and the Tennessee electrical contractor license itself is $250 and must be renewed every two years at a cost of $250.

There is no continuing education credit requirement. There is reciprocity for the technical portion of the Tennessee electrical contractor license exam only. The business and law exam must still be taken and the required fees paid. The exam waiver is in effect with Arkansas, Alabama, Louisiana, North Carolina, Mississippi, and South Carolina.

The limited licensed electrician or LLE is for electrical contractors with jobs less than $25,000. This license is issued by the state and is good in local municipalities that do not have their own licensing procedure in place. The LLE license is not accepted in local jurisdictions that issue their own electrical contractor licenses. Cities that issue their own licenses and do not accept the LLE include Memphis, Sparta, Maryville, Morristown, Murfreesboro, Lafollette, Nashville, Chattanooga, Athens, Knoxville, Oak Ridge, Humboldt, and Jackson.

The examination for the LLE Tennessee electrical contractor license is administered by PSI at various locations throughout the state. The test has 40 questions and takes two hours. A score of 73% is needed to pass. The examination costs $44, the application fee is $50, and the LLE license is $50 every two years. No continuing education credits are required and no reciprocity is offered for this license.

Local jurisdictions are responsible for regulations and licensing in their area. They generally issue a master electrician or journeyman level license. Fees and other specifications vary among locales.

The applications for the state issued Tennessee electrical contractor license options can be downloaded from the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance website. Forms for local cities or counties may be located on the respective municipality websites.