Massachusetts doesn’t issues electrician license at the master and journeyman level.
The licenses are good for a period of three years. To be eligible for the Massachusetts master electrician license, you must first work as a licensed journeyman for at least one year.
To become a licensed journeyman, you need a minimum of 8000 hours work experience as an apprentice over a period of at least four years and 600 hours of training from an approved course. Then you must take and pass the official licensing examination.
After working for the required time as a licensed electrician journeyman in Massachusetts, you can take the master electrician examination as long as you have at least one year’s experience and an additional 150 hours of approved classroom training.
The master license requires an examination also. The tests are proctored by PSI Exams and given at various locations throughout the state. The examination fee for the tests is $135. They are open book and cover a wide range of electrical knowledge that includes questions specific to Massachusetts, general electrical knowledge, bonding, grounding, wiring methods, transformers, low voltage distribution, equipment, lighting, alarm systems, circuit calculations, schematics, troubleshooting, and regulations.
In addition, the master license requires a second examination that covers business and law topics such as estimating and bidding, Massachusetts regulations, liens, financial management, labor laws, tax laws, contracts, risk management, and safety. Both exams require a score of at least 70% to pass.
The fee for a Massachusetts master electrician license is $155 and the license is good for three years. To renew a master license, it costs $117. In addition, there is an application fee of $75 and an additional fee of $55 for the second part of the examination that includes the business questions. Twenty-one hours of continuing education credits are required in order to renew a master electrician license. Fifteen of those hours must be on the Massachusetts electrical code, law, and business. The other five hours can be on any topic related to the field of work.
The Massachusetts journeyman license costs $104 initially and $78 every three years. This license also requires 21 hours of continuing education credits to help ensure all electricians keep up to date with regulations and practices. Both licenses have reciprocity with the state of New Hampshire.
The applications and forms needed to apply for Massachusetts electrician license can be downloaded from the Massachusetts Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation website.